Review Work (IEM)

Oriveti OH-800 : Superb

*Stars Picker Audio Library sent me this Oriveti flagship all (8) Balanced Armatures flagship IEM for review purpose. IEM will be sent back to them after the review.

*I don’t have any idea regarding the product name, specification, etc. regarding the IEM. I only know that the retail price will be around 800 USD, and it is an 8 unit of Balanced Armatures in each housing. Of course, this will be their flagship also.The model is Oriveti OH 800, but will be addressed as Oriveti in the review.

Oriveti OH 800 (8 Balanced Armatures IEM) (Around 800 USD)

As I said, I don’t know what the product name of this flagship 8 BAs IEM is, but the build quality is exquisite and shouts quality, the housing is substantial and weighty in hand, the housing is finished in olive green colour in a dark scheme, and I can assure it looks very classy with those ‘sleeper’ kind of looks, the design is truly striking. Once you are holding it, you will be assured by the build and finishing quality.

The cable is, of course, replaceable, with 0.78mm 2 pin design. The cable is built nicely and braided with a lovely aesthetic. I am not sure about the material, but the cable has good heft and felt premium. Although I wouldn’t say I like how the connector (both 0.78mm 2 Pin and 3.5mm jack) looks like, at least they look entirely consistent across the IEM, I think the build and finishing quality is in 800 USD league although I expect nothing less for IEM in this price range. You can see the internal arrangement if you use a torchlight, one of the BA wrote ‘Oriveti’ on it, I believe some of the units are Oriveti’ custom BA unit.’

The Comfort level is excellent; wearing it and listening for long hours is not a problem at all. Noise isolation is excellent, too, much better than what Apple Airpod Pro able to provide with the ANC turning on in my office. In term of build quality, looks, finishing, comfort, and noise isolation, I don’t have anything that I want to complain, from real life and everyday usage, it will work flawlessly. But if you’re going to wear the IEM for walking, the cable might be a little too big and bulky. However, I don’t see that as a problem.

Audio Quality

I have paired Oriveti 8 BA with Stoner Acoustics UDXA and EGD, JDS Labs The Element, M2Tech Marley II and Tempotec Sonata HD Pro. High resolution music played through Foobar2K (PC) and USB Audio Player Pro (Android), Tidal Master too.

Speaking of audio quality, the Oriveti offers nothing less than extraordinary. The sound tuning is very likeable and can easily tell this is IEM that housing Balanced Armature drivers because of the unique ‘taste’ of balanced armature drivers, but don’t get me wrong because this is not your usual BA IEM, the Oriveti not only provide spectacular technical capability but it also has some soul that arguably only able to portray by dynamic driver IEM. You might be noticing that I name this review article ‘Balanced armatures sound with soul”, this is what I am thinking of when I listen to the Oriveti. Even better, I keep discovering joy and satisfaction whenever I listen to it, and pretty sure that this is really a worthwhile IEM selling at 800 USD, so how does it sound apparently?

Treble is sweet and has perfect proportion, although it is not the most extensive treble (manufacturers nowadays tend to reduce the upper treble), I can’t even complain. The treble although is not bright, but has excellent details level, in which the micro detail and dynamic in the treble are genuinely remarkable. Even better, the treble never sounds harsh nor overly bright, the proportion is perfect, in my opinion. This is not those thin BA treble the treble has some thickness and body, might be a little short of extreme transparency and cleanliness in it. Still, I am enjoying it wholly, it is balanced, and if you want me to describe it, it is ‘SWEET’.

The midrange is coherent and forward, sounded thick/weighty and detailed. I like the midrange presentation here; it can easily portray the emotion and energy in the midrange, and there is even some ‘liquidness’ in the tonal, in short, the midrange is easily likeable. Sibilant is not an issue, and I never find that the midrange is bright. I can be tapping my toe when listening to the midrange, dynamic, calm and seductive. The midrange, however, is not warm at all. Cleanliness and transparency are retained nicely. Whatever it is, the midrange is truly expertly tuned and showed the behaviour of high tier audiophile IEM, poisoning in its way.

Bass is playful at the mid and upper bass, but don’t expect the dynamic driver kind of elasticity and rumbling. The sub-bass is recessed quite soon, so no end to end extension here. The bass is boosted slightly, but I see it as a good thing because even with the slightly enhanced bass, the timing and delivery are still on time, this also helps to add up the musicality and ‘soul’ factor of the music, it can sound slightly ‘big’ sometimes. However, it is still relatively clean and never gets the thing to become muddy. As what I am expecting for a multi BA IEM, the bass is fast, clean with good impact, but without much rumbling and air.

It is no secret that I genuinely enjoy the Oriveti throughout the review. I like how Oriveti makes such a balanced multi BA IEM with such a weighty and fully bodied tonal, and still so capable in term of technical capability. Soundstage and imaging are excellent, although I think IEM such as Moondrop S8 offers more layering and dimension at the soundstage, to be frank if you want the very best of the soundstage and imaging, IEM is not the first thing you should consider. Timing as I said is very timely, and I am somewhat surprised, most of the BA sounded extremely fast, but Oriveti is not behaving that way, the speed although not super fast but it still hit on time and give a good sense of control to the overall tonal, not that it is a slow timing IEM. Yet, usually, BA IEM will have a faster sound. Transient response performed below my expectation for IEM at this price, but not a big issue, just relatively speaking. Timbre and tonal are excellent, to be honest, I found no reason not to like the sound, it is well-tuned unless you hate BA kind of sound signature.

Final Thought

‘Balanced Armatures sound with soul’, this is such a high compliment, a truly non-boring tonal and timbre but retain all the benefits of BA driver. And I love the sound signature of Oriveti. Still, the midrange is genuinely stood out, the midrange is nicely dynamic and has the right proportion with proper weight. If you have 800 USD to spend and to find a well-performing IEM with a balanced tuning and want to have musical factor out of your IEM, this is it, with all the sonic benefits and advantages of BA driver, not a moment the Oriveti sounded boring to me, balanced, fun and high technicality, you got all those in the Oriveti. What? You are asking me if I am recommending this IEM? Hell yeah! Without second thought unless you hate BA sound signature.

4 thoughts on “Oriveti OH-800 : Superb

      • No problem! I will probably get demo unit of this set too. Im curious on how OH800 compares with my previoua favourable ier M9. Have you ever heard of M9 yet? If so, any thoughts between them?

        I listen to korean r&b, ballad, especially, so it’s not that easy to find something that sound best with them. (Vocals bloat and piercing highs are usually the main problem I faced when listening to that genre, probably because of the Mastering which makes it harder to fine tune the IEM.)

Leave a comment