Review Work (Headphone Amplifier)

Arce MDAC Mini : True Excellent Sounding Budget DAC

Arce Mdac Mini in Earmass.com

Arce Mdac Mini in Earmass.com

Recently I have contacted Wang from Arce Audio, a audio company from China which made excellent DACs and headphone amplifiers, knew that there will be a new model coming out from them, namely Mdac Mini, which is a mini DAC that can only use with computer audio (PC-Fi). I am not particularly interested with it but Wang seems confident with the audio quality of their latest MDac Mini, I would like to see how it performed. In case you not yet read the review, I have reviewed the Arce MDac 3 year ago, ended up loving them, I wished something stunning from Mdac Mini.

2Little story about the Mdac Mini

So, Mdac Mini is not their first approach, in fact this should be considered as Mark II because they had launched MK I not long after they started their business in audio community, the Mark I is a entirely different DAC like the one I reviewed today, for your information, MK I sold out nicely in country outside of China (USA if I remembered correctly), but Arce made a decision not to sell them after some batch, because they can’t accept the build quality/finishing of the Mark I, but then, their DAC were well received, both inside and outside of China. I am sure that they can make a good profit out of the sales, but the reason their cut their sales outside of homeland, is respectable.

Mdac Mini (150USD)

I have good things to say about the Mdac Mini. First of all, it require no driver for PC (Window), it is a true plug and play device. Secondly, it is compact and lots of drive for its size, then, it has a very friendly price tag to begin with. However, none of these are important without good audio quality, so what you can expect from150USD? Cheapskate sound? Not so.

I did complain that it has no line out once or twice, but keeping things simple is what Mdac Mini purposed at. Things that I really don’t like, however is it does not support anything beyond 24/192 (It still can play them though), needless to mention the very hot DSD format. For 150USD anyway, I can complain nothing. Some hissing is detected with IEMs, but not that destructive, sensitive IEMs should looks else way.

I am glad that MDac Mini included a headphone amplifier inside, which is great for money. It also seem like Arce Audio not just fit any headphone amplifier inside the MDac Mini, I can’t find any information online, but sound wise it is quite promising. Arce also claimed that this thing can drive the 600 ohms.

3.5mm jack

3.5mm jack

QSound Technology

Arce Audio working together with Canada company, QSound to feature a audio tuning system, which you can set it as low, high or off. I always keep this thing off when I am playing music, as it is not neutral and too engaging/impulsive. However, when I am watching movies, I kept it open, it always goive me a good surround effect that watching action movies needed.  I believe this is the same for playing games. This is not necessarily a good add-up for audiophiles, but it is a very good feature especially listening music is not your only priority (Gaming?Movies?)

Smooth, relaxed and gentle sound signature

I would say MDac Mini doesn’t sound like a 150USD DAC at all. The soung is generally relaxed, smooth and gentle, which I can keep listen to for a long time. I did connect my 300 Ohm German Maestro GMP450, this cheap DAC shine with it, something that I can’t expect to happen, I am not saying that it is on par or better with my desktop DAC/Amp, no, it is definitely not, but the sound signature of MDac Mini is really something very special, in a very good way.

4I do think that gentle sound is house sound of Arce, the MDAC 3 that I reviewed before has similar sound signature too (Of course lots nicer), but bear in mind that I have never experienced any DACs/Head-amp combo box that sounded better than the MDac Mini that I am reviewing today. Maybe the hissing issue is what keeping sensitive IEMs users away, but for people with low to high impedance headphones, MDac Mini is the most appropriate 150USD DAC that I can think of, sweet and good sounding.

It did sound bit grainy in comparison with some other DACs, but at least it sounded good. Soundstage width and depth is reasonable, warm and relaxing sound, it is quite thick sounding, the ‘line’ and ‘shape’ of sound definitely coarser than most of the DACs, but this is not something bad, just matter of preference.

Final Verdict

Review ended up too short? Definitely not the case. Rest assured though, MDac Mini is the best sounding device under the 150USD categories, QSound is a good feature but I wished that there is a bass boost feature, put aside though, excellent device for the price, bravo!

 

6

P1080176

P1080172

Leave a comment